News Post

Class of 2018 Honored at Senior Awards Night
Class of 2018 Honored at Senior Awards Night

On Monday evening, Red Bank Catholic honored the extraordinary young men and women of this year’s graduating class at its Evening of Excellence: The Class of 2018 Senior Awards.

The evening celebrated remarkable successes in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and athletics. Principal Robert Abatemarco welcomed the students and their families to begin the ceremony, and school chaplain Father Ariel Robles offered a blessing before the distribution of awards. The approximately 200 honored students were presented with awards for their outstanding accomplishments in academic courses, spirited dedication to activities and the community, and impressive achievements in capstone projects and internship experiences. Varsity athletes were also awarded their athletic honors blankets. Following the presentation of awards, Msgr. Phillip Lowery offered his congratulations to the students. The evening concluded with the shamrock pin presentation, a special tradition in which the seniors are invited to present a shamrock pin to a teacher, friend, coach, or parent who has supported and encouraged them during their journey as Caseys.

To date, 172 members of the senior class have reported scholarships totalling $31,454,982 in  awards. The reported scholarships come from 122 different colleges and universities as well as other organizations. A special set of scholarships, awarded by those with connections to the RBC community, was presented during the ceremony.  Anastasia Hicks-Hunter and Jenny Volcy received of the Gilda A. Scarpone Memorial Scholarship, and Claire Datilus received the Morris Mitchell Memorial Scholarship, which are presented to graduates of Sisters Academy who have distinguished themselves during their four years at Red Bank Catholic. The Ellen Cunningham Akmentins Scholarship was presented to Kerry Bates, Elizabeth Dailey, Jyllissa Harris, and Kelly Ann Smith for their future studies in the areas of education and communications.

Congratulations to these scholarship winners and all of the class of 2018 award honorees!